البصر بالليزر

الليزر هي أجهزة قوية ومهمة ، ولكن يمكن أن تكون خطرة للغاية. هذا هو السبب في أنه من المهم أن نفهم ما يمكن أن يفعله الليزر ولماذا يمكن أن تكون خطيرة للغاية عند عدم استخدامها مع احتياطات السلامة المناسبة. يعتبر فهم الليزر مفتاحًا مهمًا للاستخدام الآمن.

يتركز الضوء من أشعة الليزر القوية على كثافة الطاقة. هذه الكثافة القوة عالية بما يكفي لتبخير الأنسجة ، المعادن أو السيراميك. تتعرض أعيننا لمخاطر متزايدة لهذا الضوء الخطير لأنها شديدة الحساسية. بل من الممكن أن يسبب تلفًا لا يمكن علاجه لعينيك من التعرض العرضي الوحيد لحزمة ليزر مباشرة أو منعكسة.

الليزر هي أكثر خطورة بكثير من مصادر الضوء التقليدية. الخطر الرئيسي من التعرض للضوء الليزر يأتي من التماسك المكاني وعلاقته بالعين. تتسم سمات الموجات لحزمة الليزر بعلاقة ثابتة مع المكان والزمان ، وتكون جميعها بنفس طول الموجة ، ويمكنها أن تقطع مسافة كبيرة كحزم متوازية تقريبًا. كل هذا يعني أن القوة التي تؤثر على منطقة مثل العين مستقلة عن المسافة إلى مصدر الإشعاع.

يأتي خطر فقدان البصر من التعرض العرضي لإشعاع الليزر من الخصائص الفريدة في العين. العين حساسة للإشعاع وعادة ما تكون لها آليات حماية طبيعية ، مثل الوميض أو الابتعاد ، عندما يبدو الضوء ساطعًا جدًا ، ولكن مع مستويات طاقة أعلى ، يصل قدر كبير من الطاقة إلى العين قبل أن تتمكن من الاستجابة بشكل مناسب. يتقدم الإشعاع إلى شبكية العين ولكن لا يتم ملاحظة التعرض للليزر إلا بعد حدوث الضرر. يتم امتصاص الإشعاع على سطح العين ، مما يؤدي إلى ارتفاع درجة حرارة وحرق أنسجة العين.

مع مصادر الضوء التقليدية ، تشتت قوة الضوء لأن الضوء يشع في اتجاهات مختلفة. هذا لا يحدث مع ضوء الليزر. يأتي الضوء من الليزر بتركيز أصغر بكثير ، لكن كثافة أعلى بكثير ، مما يزيد من قوته بشكل كبير. ولأن النكهة ، التي تقع على شبكية العين ومنطقة العين المسؤولة عن الرؤية المركزية ، لا يتجاوز حجمها بضعة ميكرومترات ، يمكن للشخص أن يفقد بصره في نبضة واحدة من الليزر.

عندما تستخدم بشكل صحيح ومع الحماية المناسبة ، فإن أدوات الليزر هي أدوات مفيدة للغاية. من المهم فهم أساسيات كيفية عمل الليزر وما يجعلها قوية للغاية لمنع الإصابة أو الأذى.

Laser Sight

Lasers are powerful, important devices, but can also be very hazardous. That is why it is important to understand what lasers can do and why they can be so dangerous when not used with the proper safety precautions. Understanding lasers is an important key to safe usage.

Light from powerful lasers is concentrated to power densities. These power densities are high enough to evaporate tissue, metal or ceramics. Our eyes are at an increased risk to that dangerous light because they are very sensitive. It is even possible to cause irreversible damage to your eyes from only one accidental exposure to a direct or reflected laser beam.

Lasers are much more dangerous than conventional light sources. The main danger of laser light exposure comes from its spatial coherence and its relation to the eye. The wave traits of a laser beam have a fixed relation to space and time, are all the same wavelength, and can travel great distance as nearly parallel beams. This all means that the power that impacts an area like the eye is independent of the distance to the source of radiation.

The risk of losing eyesight from accidental exposure to laser radiation comes from the unique properties in the eye. The eye is sensitive to radiation and usually has natural protective mechanisms, like blinking or turning away, when light appears too bright, but with higher power levels too much energy reaches the eye before it can properly respond. The radiation advances to the retina of the eye but the laser's exposure is only noticed after all the damage is done. The radiation is absorbed at the eye's surface, which leads to overheating and burning of the eye's tissue.

With conventional light sources, the power of the light disperses because the light radiates in different directions. That does not happen with laser light. The light from the laser comes in a much smaller concentration, but much higher density, increasing its power greatly. Because the fovea, which is located on the retina and is the area of the eye responsible for central vision, is only a few micrometers in size, someone can lose their eyesight in one pulse of a laser.

When used properly and with the right protection, lasers are extremely useful tools. It is important to understand the very basics of how lasers work and what makes them so powerful to prevent injury or harm.